These awards from the American Association for the Advancement of Science honour reporting on the sciences, mathematics and engineering by professional journalists from around the world. Categories including newspapers, magazines, television, audio, online and children’s science news. Entries are judged on “scientific accuracy, initiative, originality, clarity of interpretation, and value in fostering a better public understanding of science and its impact.” The award is open to entries published between 16 July the previous year and 15 July the current year, and the submission window closes on 1 August 2017.

The American Geophysical Union has three journalism awards: the David Perlman Award for Excellence in Science Journalism for news writing, the Walter Sullivan Award for Excellence in Science Journalism for feature writing, and the Robert C. Cowen Award for Sustained Achievement in Science Journalism. Nominations are open from January 15 – March 15.

These awards, run by the American Institute of Physics, are designed to recognise the best science writing, which “improve the general public’s appreciation of the physical sciences, astronomy, math and related science fields.” Awards are given in the categories of books; science writing in newspapers, magazines and online; broadcast and new media; and writing for children. A prize of $3000 is offered for each category. Entries from the 2017 calendar year are due 30 March 2018.

Run by the Association of Health Care Journalists, these awards honour “the best health reporting in print, broadcast and online media” from this calendar year. Categories include investigative, consumer, health policy, public health and trade. First prize is US$500, and entries close January 8.

Run by the Australasian Medical Writers’ Association, this award is intended to encourage people into full-time medical writing. Applications close on 1 February 2018 and the prize includes travel and accommodation for the annual AMWA conference, and advice and assistance from experienced medical writers.

This prize, part of the Australian Museum Eureka Awards, honours an Australian journalist or team of journalists “whose work is assessed as having most effectively communicated scientific or technological issues to the public.” It is open to Australian citizens or residents. Entries for 2018 open 2 February and close 4 May. The winner receives a $10,000 prize.

Run by the National Press Club of Australia and sponsored by Medicines Australia, these prizes are awarded in five categories: health policy, health innovation, ageing, health business and documentary – each with a cash prize of $1000 –  as well as recognising the Health Journalist of the Year, who receives a prize of $10,000 towards a health-related study tour. The entry window closes in early December each year.

Established by UNSW Press – publisher of the Best Australian Science Writing anthology – this is an annual prize for the best short non-fiction piece on science written for a general audience. Entries open from 1 January and close 31 March, the first prize is $7000 and two runners-up receive $1500. All shortlisted entries will be published in the Anthology.

The international magazine Cancer World, published by the European School of Oncology, runs a journalism award that “encourages, celebrates and rewards journalists who deliver insights into the personal and social impact of the disease, and efforts to change policy, practice or advocacy.” The award is open to print, online, radio, video or television, in categories of patient and carer experience; research, science and treatment; policy, services and affordability; and prevention. The prize in each category is €1500 and the overall winner will also be funded to attend the 2018 ECCO Summit in Vienna (7th-9th September 2018) to receive their award. Entries close 1 May, 2018.

The Dietitians Association of Australia runs these awards to “encourage accurate and responsible reporting on nutrition issues in the media [and] acknowledge and celebrate quality nutrition reporting by Australian journalists.” The two categories – short-lead and long-lead – each come with a $2000 cash prize. Entries are open until December 31.

This award from the US-based Council for the Advancement of Science Writing is “intended to encourage young science writers by recognizing outstanding reporting and writing in any field of science.” Applicants must aged under 30 years, and the prize includes US$1000. The entry window closes June 30.

This joint initiative of the Thomson Reuters Foundation and the Barilla Centre for Food & Nutrition honours “excellence in reporting and communicating issues related to food security, sustainability, agriculture and nutrition.” The awards are given in the categories of Written, Photography and Video, and can be awarded to unpublished as well as published work. Published winners receive a €10,000 cash prize, and unpublished winners receive an all-expenses paid trip to attend a Thomson Reuters Foundation media training course on food sustainability. Entry window is open from January-May.

The Institute for Journalism and Natural Resources offers two separate grants designed to “help defray the costs of reporting projects that focus on natural resources, the environment, energy, development, agriculture, environmental justice, and public health.” The Frank Allen Field Reporting Award is a grant of up to US$500, and the Andrew Weegar Memorial Award is a grant of up to US$1000 that focuses on conservation, traditional agriculture, forestry and fisheries. The next application round will open in Autumn 2018.

Sponsored by the American Chemical Society, this award aims to “recognize, encourage, and stimulate outstanding reporting directly to the public, which materially increases the public’s knowledge and understanding of chemistry, chemical engineering, and related fields”. Deadline for entries is November 1, and the prize includes US$5,000, and up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented.

Awarded by the Columbia Journalism School in New York, in memory of John B. Oakes – former environmental journalist at the New York Times – this annual prize recognises “news reporting that makes an exceptional contribution to the public’s understanding of environmental issues”. It’s open to any article published in the United States, and the entry window closes early in the year.

This award from PEN America recognises “writing that exemplifies literary excellence on the subject of the physical or biological sciences and communicates complex scientific concepts to a lay audience”. The winner receives a cash prize of US$10,000, and the 2018 submission window was open from June 1 – August 15. Submissions must come from publishers or literary agents; authors may not submit their book directly.

These awards, run by the US-based National Association of Science Writers, recognise “investigative or interpretive reporting about the sciences and their impact on society”. Submissions must have been published in North America in the 2017 calendar year, entries close 1 February 2018. There are seven categories, including books, short, medium or long science reporting, opinion, and series, and each has a cash prize of US$2000.

This award from the Society for Personality and Social Psychology honours “a member of the media for excellence in coverage of the personality and social psychology field.” The award can go to a particular piece of coverage or for a distinguished record of reporting. The prize is a US$500 honorarium, and the submission window is from March 15 to June 1.

Run by the US-based Society of Environmental Journalists, these awards honour the best environmental journalism across print, TV, radio and online, and for beat reporting, in-depth reporting and books. Deadline for entry is 1 April, and entries are open to international journalists.